Eureka Prize 2023

eureka_logo Announcement Date : 

On the occasion of the 2023 Eureka Prize, the Institute of Astrophysics - FORTH, Crete University Press, ου ΙΤΕ, the Physicists' Association of Crete and the Association of Friends of Astronomy of Crete, invite all educators to an open forum regarding teaching physical sciences, on Saturday December 2 2023, at 19:00, at the Kastellaki auditorium of the Chamber of Heraklion.

The prize recognizes educational activities that are inspired by the most attractive and at the same time the most dynamic part of fundamental physics today: Astronomy. The purpose of the prize is to exert a small positive effect on a long-term trend of degradation in the quality of scientific education in Greece, which often focuses on a sterile examination-based learning system, with the background and final judge of their efforts the national exams.

Among the excellent candidates for  2023 the committee selected Ms. Sevi Malamou, Σέβη Μαλάμου ighschool teacher at the Music School of Ioannina for her original project entitled «The moon strolls through the physical sciences" which was implemented during the 2021-22 academic year.

Vasiliki Pavlidou, Professor at the Dept. of Physics of the Univ. of Crete and Chair of the Prize Committee as well as Stephanos Trachanos, Director of  Mathesis and Vice Chair of the Prize Committee, will introduce this years winner.

The prize is accompanied by a cash prize of € 3,000 of which € 2,000 will be given to the award-winning teacher and € 1,000 at his / her school in the form of laboratory or other equipment intended for the Astronomical Laboratory of the school which can be ordered from «Πλανητάριο Θεσσαλονίκης».

The award ceremony will be followed by a panel discussion on "The Physics which is not taught in schools and Astronomy in Education". The panel will be attended by the 2023 Laureate Mrs. Sevi Malamou, the President of the Physicists' Association of Crete Dr. Michael Karadimitriou, and the President of the Association of Friends of Astronomy of Crete Mr. Panagiotis Pantzekos. The discussion will be moderated by the physicist, member of the "Eureka, Eureka!" prize committee, Mr. Michalis Orphanakis.

More information, in Greek, are available from the web page of the prize: